Fire Drill

Fire Alarm
My building is having a fire drill this afternoon, sometime between noon and 5. We don’t know exactly when our floor will go; that way, we’re not all in the lobby when the alarm goes off–we’re actually doing normal things.

Except that as one of my suites “wardens,” I’m hyper-aware that it could happen at any moment. Or not. So basically I’m just sitting around, waiting for a fire drill.

That’s not productive. No one is benefiting from this, not even me.

So, what’s your fire drill? And what else could you be doing right now?

Photo by Night Owl City, via Flickr.

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Work and Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My fire drill today was waiting for the roofer to show up (second time they’ve come out) and taking lots of photos of my chimney flashing with a telephoto lens to show what a crappy job they did the first time around. And waiting for administrators to call me back about a school issue related to my daughter’s AP class. Sheesh. Some days I wonder how I get anything done at all.

Tell me what you think!

